How Do We Change Our Minds Theologically? (via Rekindling the Gift)

A great post from my friend Jeff full of questions to ponder. Have we changed our minds theologically? Do we view the scriptures in the same way we did as an adolescent or young adult? Have our experiences influenced the changes we’ve undergone? Do we reason differently now? What traditions have we shed or put on with respect to our spirituality?

I hope you’ll contribute your reflections and impressions as you entertain these questions.

It is not easy to change our minds, least of all on matters theological. It involves admitting that we used to be mistaken, often abandoning a less complex view of God or humanity or Scripture or what-have-you. It entails figuring out what else we need to change our mind about now, since our thinking in one area of theology influences our thinking in any other area. It may result in offending a family member or friend who now disagrees with us or … Read More

via Rekindling the Gift

2 thoughts on “How Do We Change Our Minds Theologically? (via Rekindling the Gift)

  1. I have certainly changed what I believe about some doctrines through the years.

    Some of them were just fed to me as a kid, and they didn’t stand my own reading of the scripture.

    Some of them I abandoned once I had a theological education. This is especially true of specific readings once I had a good knowledge of Greek.

    I am 43, and I have been a Christian a long time, and a minister for more than a decade, but these changes continue.

    I recently read Robert Jewett’s 1979 Book, “Jesus Against the Rapture: 7 Unexpected Prophesies.” One chapter in this book makes me think that we cannot possibly understand the Gospels without constantly remembering that Jerusalem had been brutally destroyed shortly before three of them were written.

    The recent shifts in my understanding would make too long a reply, but in short, any living, studying, spirit-led Christian will be in a constant state of change, hopefully called learning.

    Mike I have subscribed to your Blog. 😀

    Grace to You and Peace

    Chad

    • Chad,

      Thanks for your comments and for subscribing to the blog. I’m honored to have you as a conversation partner. Like you, I believe that change is a crucial (even inescapable) aspect of our journey of learning and living. Through my education I have been challenged–by particular questions, certain texts, and unaccounted for voices–and pushed to reconsider my own convictions and understandings. At first I found many of my previously held beliefs no longer tenable (basically subscribing to the same “mode” of thinking but now with new evidence and material–biblical greek, historical contexts, etc). Recently, I’ve moved toward a more fundamental shift in my thinking; one that allows for “imaginative retrievals” of my longest held beliefs. I’ve discovered that many things are not worthy of outright rejection, as I had first thought; but, instead, are able to be reframed and relived–akin to what Paul Ricoeur called a “second naivete.” For me, this opens onto a beautiful, inviting, often very unstable, but equally adventurous terrain of (practical) theological reflection.

Leave a Reply

